Still Striving to improve myself, one board break at a time

Merry Christmas!

There are only three more days until I send my son to California for a grand adventure. He is part of the largest high school marching band in the nation and is going to the Tournament of Roses. He’ll be marching in Pasadena on New Year’s Day. He’s leaving on the 28th and will be gone until the 2nd. I haven’t had him go anywhere without me for that long. Last year, he went to San Antonio, but that was a shorter trip. This is the biggie, the one we’ve been waiting for all year long.

I’m sad, in a way, because I can’t go with him. He’ll experience Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, Battle of the Bands and some other things. The band gets a preview of the floats for the Rose Parade. They’ll wander around on the Santa Monica Pier.  700+ kids from Texas, invading California!  Watch out, California!  They’re coming to show you how marchcing is done in Texas.

I’m looking forward to seeing them on television. While I’d like to be out there, I couldn’t afford to go, so I’m watching from the comfort of my own home.  My feet will likely thank me for it anyway.  I’m envious of the ones who get to go, but they’ll have to fight crowds and all the assorted things that go along with it.  I’ll just think happy thoughts that they’ll all enjoy themselves and have lots of fun.  They can have fun for me too.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

