Still Striving to improve myself, one board break at a time

I had a blast last weekend in New Orleans. I haven’t posted about it because I was exhausted from the trip-the flight, then running around the area before we got to the hotel and then…THE FRENCH QUARTER! I’ve never been there before and this was a trip without my family, just a girls’ weekend.

I stayed with several lovely ladies who are part of a group that is united by our love of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series and the televison series on Starz.  We were celebrating the group’s second anniversary, which coincidentally, happened to tie in to the second book of the series, hence New Orleans.  I won’t give it away if you’ve not read the books, but if you have, you will understand the reference.

I loved my trip to New Orleans.  I had great companions and we ran around the Quarter, exploring. They went out of their way to show me the sights, which I greatly appreciated. I was introduced to the best fried chicken I have ever eaten at Willie Mae’s Scotch House.  The food was awesome, the companionship was beyond compare.  Yes, it was great!

We had a great dinner at Cafe Soule on Saturday night. After all the running around during the day in our own groups, it was fun to get together for dinner.  Several of the ladies told the waiter a fun thing about why we were there, which he shared with another table of patrons. At least one of those patrons kept getting up, walking past our table and checking us out-unobtrusively, of course!! 

While we were there, a small visitor (a tree roach, I think)  freaked out another table behind us.  He climbed the wall and I do believe the girls at that table thought for sure he was trying to join their meal, so they all moved until one of the wait staff removed him.  (Another one showed up shortly after that. I think he may have been wanting to have dinner too.)

Sunday afternoon was brunch, then it was time to pack up and come home. I drove home with another friend and had a lot of fun just chatting about this and that. We had a lot of fun singing to a repeat of Casey Kasem’s Top 40 from the 80’s.

I took Monday off. I needed it. I slept poorly Sunday night. According to my Fitbit, I had fits of 1 hour and several minutes sleep, then 2 hours and some, then 2 and some.  Definitely not restful at all. I did manage to get homework finished and was happy about that.

Tuesday, it was back to the grind and I managed to make up for lost time. I finished a couple of tasks that had been left over from the end of the quarter and was back on track to move forward with my regularly scheduled job.  I also had school work to get caught up on. Wednesday was a big (to me) quiz, which I scored significantly better on than the quizzes from the prior week. I’ll take it!  Made my day to do better.

I’ve been getting caught up with my household tasks, plus staying on top of school today. I need to settle in and study for an actual TEST on Monday. I’m worried, but not overly so. I believe that if I get help from my family and friends again, I’ll be able to score better on the test.

It’s good to take a break periodically. I needed the break from work and school. I got away, had loads of fun exploring a city I’ve only heard about in the past. Being there was definitely a good thing. I can cross that off my “to do” list because I’ve done it now.  I want to go back sometime, but it’s not pressing. I’ve got a trip to Hawaii, one to Italy, one to Scotland and Ireland and a trip to Wales on my agenda next. I suppose I need to look at getting my passport.

I would highly recommend a trip with friends as a great way to decompress and forget the cares of the work week. I feel less stressed and much happier since I went and came back. Who knows, maybe I’ll get over my “antisocial” phase on Facebook again. I’ve not felt very friendly recently. I think it’s because I’ve been stressed out between work and school.   A friend reminded me that I am not the sum of my GPA and work is going to be there tomorrow. I don’t need to bring it home. (I do anyway, but I’m working on that)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

