Still Striving to improve myself, one board break at a time

whispers…psst!  Anyone here?

I haven’t written for a while.  Life has a way of getting in the way. I’ve been trying to get through school and have somewhat dropped off the face of the earth for a while. I’m presently taking four classes, while working full time and managing a family.

Things have been odd for 2015.  During the Spring Semester at school, I managed to injure my heels.  I have plantar fasciitis in both feet and believe me when I tell you, it HURTS!! I’m presently on my second doctor because the first one pretty much told me, “sit, don’t do anything and it’ll heal.”  I saw him at the end of April, during May and at the beginning of June. I wasn’t getting anywhere with the healing process, so I switched to another doctor this month.  This one  says to give it 4-6 weeks and if it’s not better, call him.

I’ve also joined a “10,000 steps a day” challenge at work. I’m trying really hard to get in steps, but my company pedometer is inaccurate as anything. My Fitbit is definitely more accurate. I did, however, manage to get in several steps, despite sore, swollen feet last week. They’re still sore, less swollen and better rested as of right now. I haven’t been walking this weekend though. We’ll start the week of limping off again tomorrow. The good thing is, my new doctor highly encourages exercise!!

On the weight loss front, things have stalled out. I’m not losing, but  my cousin, who revamped her entire lifestyle,IS dropping pounds (I think her comment was, “it’s melting off” to one of her friends) and I cheer quietly. I’m a terrible cheerleader in that aspect. I think that’s pretty cool for her.

School is kicking my butt pretty hard.  Four classes, three of which are online, are all tough. I’ve been trying to suck it up and deal with the math class, but it’s really hurting me. I don’t understand the logic part of it at all. The entire first section is logic and probability. I don’t see how that is going to help me as a Liberal Arts major but apparenlty, it’s necessary to prove that I’m “well rounded”. (and insane.  Don’t forget the insane part)

I’m debating dropping the math class. It would be a shame but at the same time, it’s definitely NOT AS ADVERTISED!! I was told it would be “easier” than College Algebra. No, it is not. I’d rather stick bamboo slivers underneath my fingernails than deal with math. I’ve said recently that math is “Mental Abuse to Humans” and I stand by my thinking. It hurts to see failures. This is a failed class. I get halfway decent grades on the “homework” (with copious help from a friend and family members) and fail the quizzes. I didn’t even take the second quiz because I couldn’t pass the homework with a 70 for intersecting sets and things. Probability isn’t even that much easier. I failed a 12 point quiz with only 5 correct. That should say something about trying to teach yourself math online. It doesn’t work if you don’t understand in the first place.

Two failed quizzes today means I’m walking away from all homework for a while.  My brain hurts, hence I’m writing. I usually workout a bunch of frustration by writing.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

