Still Striving to improve myself, one board break at a time

Success and then some

I have been tracking faithfully on MyFitnessPal and somewhat faithfully on eTools, plus using a paper tracker so I can find where my issues are.  It’s amazing to see how many times I “overate”.  When I did, I found a surprise too–I lost weight!!   That was a huge surprise.  Even bigger was the fact that I am adding protein to what I typically eat–eating MORE and that’s been the key to my losses.  No, I’m not losing huge amounts (we’d all be scared senseless!) but I’m seeing some losses. 

This week, I didn’t eat as well as I should have and I saw a gain.  It was .8.  I didn’t freak out, I didn’t go ballistic and pout. I accepted it.  I knew, going in, that I’d probably see a gain.  Again, not a big deal. Gains and losses are part of the journey. I just have to knuckle down and refocus, remember to TRACK and keep it up.  I’m not confident enough in my abilities to know completely how many points something is.  Part of the key to success is being able to recognize this.  I’m working on it.

I have a week (well, four days) to work on eating right.  I also need to add in exercise because I want to start being more active.  I’ve made excuses and that’s all they are–excuses.  I’ve said “It’s too hot.” or “I’m too tired”.  Those are JUST excuses.  I can ride my bike for 30 minutes when it’s 100+ after work and I’m not going to melt.  Likewise, I can take shorts and a tee shirt, plus my sneakers and get in a 20-30 minute walk at work.  It’ll be movement.  I know someone who has a heart problem, who is out every single day, RUNNING.  If she can do that, I’m pretty darned sure I can get my lazy butt off the couch and “move it, move it.”  

I went to a bike shop  yesterday to find a good pair of cycling shorts because I DO want to start riding more.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get any help because there were a bunch of super fit guys in there.  I need to learn to not let my insecurities get the best of me.  I need to learn to ask for help, especially when it comes to making sure I’m fitted out to be able to do what I eventually want to do, which is to try to ride with a cycling club. I like cycling enough that I’m thinking I’d like to try it.

 

Comments on: "Success and then some" (2)

  1. Debi Salanitro said:

    It’s amazing how much you need to eat to lose weight right? I just hit the 25 lb mark myself. That is so good about cycling!! I think half the battle is finding something you love to do! My biggest challenges are the weekends when EVERYONE ( well except the Army Man) is home…but I’m learning to adapt
    KUDOS to you for knowing what you need to do and doing it – and yes it is a journey and as long as the losses are more than the gains – it’s all good!! 😀

  2. Girl, you can do this, and you can do it right!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

