Still Striving to improve myself, one board break at a time

Bunkai and Tai Chi

In practicing my traditional martial arts, I compared myself to everyone else in the class. I never slowed down and just did the form for me. As a result, I felt highly frustrated and discouraged when I couldn’t keep up with the rest of the class.

Today, I went to a Tai Chi practice session that my instructors held at the local park. It was chilly, but well worth going to. I feel like I am learning the form and that it’s helpful to have the instruction. I was able to take advantage of additional instruction after the regular class. I can actually see the bunkai of the movements–it’s easier now that I’ve been exposed to it in my TSD school, to see it in Tai Chi.

The form we’re learning is the 64 movement form. I’m up to the point of the “Four Corners”, which is where we’ve stopped with me. I see the application of the different movements in the form. Leading up to the Four Corners, there’s a “warding off” movement, which would be an application of blocking someone from kicking you, or pushing someone who is grabbing you or pushing you away. It resembles my TSD training. There’s also a high block that is reminiscent of the same type of high block in TSD. It’s uncanny to see the resemblance.

I am going to spend a little more time looking at Bunkai. I never learned it at my first TSD school and let myself stress out over the way I was doing forms so didn’t apply it to myself at the new TSD school. It’s taken a Tai Chi class to open my eyes.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

