Still Striving to improve myself, one board break at a time

The learning never ends

I think I’ve learned a bit of something about myself in the past few weeks. I’ve been reading The Tao of Pooh and The Te of Piglet by Benjamin Hoff. I got the idea by reading a magazine that gave some ideas about ways to re-energize yourself. I felt that it was something I needed to read. I’m glad I got it.

I’ve been picking out different things in my life that I was sure I could change. One of the things I need to work on changing is my outlook on life. To that extent, I’m trying to step back and take a more child-like view of things. I have found that my stress levels are at a more manageable level at work. I still panic over the sight of multiple calls holding in the queue, but I’m working on keeping myself under control and saying “oh well” to the calls. I am one person and can only handle one call at a time. Just need to remember that I provide better service when I’m less stressed than I do when I let the stress control me.

I have also learned a valuable lesson from Tai Chi. I’ve learned that in my class, we are ALL beginners, except for our Teacher. As far as that is concerned, I am not interested in comparing myself to anyone in the class. All of my focus in class is on myself. I keep my thoughts centered on me. I don’t look around and think “I’m not doing this any worse than so and so is.” That’s a HUGE difference from my TSD classes. In the TSD class, I look at the other black belts and i think, “They’re all so much better than me. I’ll never be at their caliber.” Unfortunately, that’s an Eeyore point of view and is self destructive. I need to apply my thinking that I’ve developed from the Tai Chi classes to my TSD classes. I just haven’t melded the two yet. My ways of thinking are still a work in progress.

Monday, I had my eye surgery and was advised no exercise for a week. They didn’t want anything strenuous to disturb the healing of my cornea. Now that I’ve had that done, I can go back to my regular routines again. I think I’m going to go outside and practice the first part of the form that Elise taught us at the last class. I know it and am looking forward to practicing again.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

